victoria-street-edinburgh

Welcome to the ultimate Edinburgh shopping spree! Anyone that knows me knows I love to rant about the importance of shopping local. As convenient as big brands can be, we have to support the independant retailers in our city to create a more circular economy. Remember, when you shop from a small independant brand, the person behind it does a little happy dance.

ClothesRosy-Penguin-Morningside-Edinburgh

For anyone like me that is totally bored with the stale offering of the high street, Edinburgh has a small but fabulous offering of fashion boutiques for all styles and budgets. Stand out frrom the crowd of head-to-toe Primark dressers and invest in independant, ethical fashion from local businesses. Here are my favourite clothing stores in Edinburgh, and read on further to also find out the best Edinburgh shops for clothes, accessories, jewellery, art, gifts, beauty, homeware, books, vintage, records and more!

Biscuit – Thistle St & Bruntsfield Place – https://www.biscuit.clothing

Atticus Boutique – The Arches – https://www.instagram.com/atticusboutique/

Godiva Boutique – West Port – https://godivaboutique.co.uk

Rosy Penguin – Morningside Road – https://www.instagram.com/rosypenguin/

Kakao by K – Thistle St – http://kakao.co.uk

Walker Slater – Victoria St – https://www.walkerslater.com

Jane Davidson – Thistle St – https://www.janedavidson.co.uk

Jewellery + Accessories

Hannah-Zakari-Edinburgh

Hannah Zakari – Candlemaker Row – https://hannahzakari.co.uk

Rosie Brown – Bruntsfield Place – http://www.rosiebrownjewellery.com

Covet – Thistle St – https://www.thoushaltcovet.com

Cambridge Satchel Company – West Bow – https://www.cambridgesatchel.com/

Art

Flamingosaurus-Rex

Marchmont Gallery – Warrender Park Rd – http://www.marchmontgallery.com

Flamingosaurus Rex – Bruntsfield Place – http://flamingosaurusrex.com

Red Door Gallery – Victoria St – http://www.edinburghart.com

Scottish Design Exchange – Ocean Terminal – https://www.scottishdesignexchange.com

Gifts, Beauty and Homeware

The-Method-Stockbridge-Edinburgh

Elk and Wolf – The Arches – http://www.elkandwolf.com

Lifestory – London Street – https://www.lifestoryshop.com

Century General – Montrose Terrace – https://century-general.myshopify.com

Ladyboss Collective – Candlemaker Row – https://www.ladybosscollective.co.uk

Bo Concept – Rose St – https://www.boconcept.com/en-gb

Snapdragon – Bruntsfield Place – https://www.snapdragonedinburgh.com

Penthaligons – George St – https://www.penhaligons.com/

Isle of Skye Candle Company – West Bow – https://www.skyecandles.co.uk/

Concrete Wardrobe – Broughton St – http://www.concretewardrobe.com

The Method – Saint Stephen St – https://www.themethod.life

Pad Lifestyle – Howe St – https://www.padlifestyle.com

Brotique – Queen St – https://www.thebrotique.co.uk

Books

fruitmarket_gallery-books

Fruitmarket Gallery – Market St – http://www.fruitmarket.co.uk

Golden Hare – Saint Stephen St – https://goldenharebooks.com

Blackwells – South Bridge – http://bookshop.blackwell.co.uk/

Main Point Books – Bread St – http://mainpointbooks.co.uk

Armchair Books – West Port – http://www.armchairbooks.co.uk

Vintage and Curios

those-were-the-days-vintage

Carnivale – Bread St – http://www.vintageedinburgh.com

Armstrongs – Grassmarket, Teviot Place and Clerk St – http://www.armstrongsvintage.co.uk

Herman Brown – West Port – http://hermanbrown.co.uk

Those Were the Days – Saint Stephen St – http://www.thosewerethedaysvintage.com

Miss Bizio Couture – Saint Stephen St – http://missbiziocouture.tumblr.com

Charity Shops

salvation-army-launches-boutique-charity-shop-in-bruntsfield

Shelter – Tollcross – http://scotland.shelter.org.uk/

Red Cross – Morningside – http://www.redcross.org.uk

Barnardos – Stockbridge – http://www.barnardos.org.uk

Oxfam – Stockbridge – http://www.oxfam.org.uk/shop

Salvation Army – Bruntsfield – https://www.salvationarmy.org.uk

vix-box-music-edinburgh

Music

Assai – Grindlay St – https://assai-records.myshopify.com

Hog’s Head – South Clerk St – http://www.hogs-head.com

Coda Music – The Mound – http://www.codamusic.co.uk

Underground Sou’shn – Cockburn St – http://www.undergroundsolushn.com

Vox Box – Saint Stephen St – http://voxboxmusic.co.uk

Markets

edinburgh-market

 Stockbridge Market – Saunders St – http://www.stockbridgemarket.com/stockbridge

Leith Market – Dock Place – http://www.stockbridgemarket.com/leith

The Pitt – Pitt Street – https://www.thepitt.co.uk

Food and Flea Market – Spittal Walk – https://www.facebook.com/foodnfleamarket/

Waverly Market – Waverley Train Station – http://www.localmotivemarkets.co.uk

Wow, that really became quite the list! I hope this is useful, whethe ryou’re a local or a tourist to the city. What are your favourite Edinburgh shops?

Ruth @ Urbanity xxx

1 comment on “The Edinburgh Independent Shopping Guide”

Comments are closed.